Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Unraveling
Book Title: Unraveling
Author: Micalea Smeltzer
Age Group: New Adult
Book Description:
Katy Spencer’s life fell apart two years ago. Since then, she’s closed herself off. She’s a shell of the person she used to be. The only person she trusts is her best friend Rollo, but even he can’t keep the nightmares away. Then she meets Jared. He’s the first man she’s been around since the event that she’s not afraid of. He makes her heart race, not in fear, but in a fluttering that could become something meaningful.Jared can tell that Katy is broken. He sees something in her eyes that he’s often seen reflected in his own.

Pain.

Fear.

Self-loathing.

Jared is determined to get to know her.

He wants to solve the mystery of Katy Spencer.

He will… unravel her.

Unraveling_Banner
****
About the author:
Micalea Smeltzer is an author from Virginia. Her name is pronounced Muh-call-e-uh. She is permanently glued to her computer, where she constantly writes. She has to listen to music when she writes and has a playlist for every book she’s ever started. When she’s not writing, she can be found reading a book or playing with her three dogs.

Website: http://micaleasmeltzer.com/
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/MicaleaSmeltzerfanpage?ref=hl
Twitter: https://twitter.com/msmeltzer9793
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5371025.Micalea_Smeltzer

Let me know if you have any questions! 
Thank you!
Giveaway:
The author is giving away a paperback copy with swag for U.S. residents.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Unraveling_Banner

It’s so nice to meet a new author. Let’s get this interview started. I know nothing about you. How many books have you written? Do you have a favorite?

I’ve written 7 books. Until recently my Outsider Series was my favorite, because it takes place where I live, and Caeden is based upon my non-existent dream guy. But as I was writing Unraveling, it quickly became my favorite. The characters were so real to me and I fell in love with all of them.

Letting go means the last one we write is always the favorite. Let’s move on. What inspired your latest book?

Well, in spring of 2012 I started thinking about what would happen to a girl that had been through something tragic, and doesn’t like to be touched. How would she fall in love? Obviously, she’d have to learn to trust the guy, with her mind, soul, and eventually her body.

I love asking this question. How likely are people you meet to end up in your next book?

Never. I don’t write people I know into my books. That’s just weird, at least to me. Sometimes, I use names of people I know, but so far that’s only by accident. There are two scenes in Insider (the 2nd book in the Outsider Series) where I included a friend of mine, but that’s only because she asked me to, otherwise I would have never done it.

Introverts versus extroverts at least in my world. And I hated psychology in school, so don’t ask me details. But speaking of psych class, let’s go deeper. What did you want to be when you were a child? Did you always know you wanted to be a writer?

I think I wanted to be a dolphin trainer, or something crazy like that. I’ve ALWAYS written stories, though. Even before I could write letters, I would draw scribbles and then proceed to tell whoever would listen, the story in my head. I didn’t realize until my senior year of high school, that being a writer was what I wanted to do with my life.

There is a dolphin researcher in my chapter in Florida, but you must be young if you knew in high school. That’s still awesome. How does your family feel about your writing career?

They are amazingly supportive! I didn’t expect the support I received so I kept my writing a secret for several years. Very few people knew about my writing until a few months before I made the decision to self-publish.

Where do you get the ideas for your stories?

I think like most authors, I have an overactive imagination. The ideas can come from anything. I might see people in a store and just start imagining what they’re saying, and Boom! There’s another idea for a book.

I often hear the wrong words though what i think I hear is almost cooler than what was said.  What is your next project and when will it be released?

I’m currently working on the companion novel to Unraveling and I’m hoping for a summer release.

Sounds good. What is your favorite part of writing?

I love getting to create a whole new world to disappear into for hours at a time.

Love it. So the opposite now. What is your least favorite part of writing?

Starting and finishing a book. I hate starting a new book, because it takes me a little while to get into it. I don’t like finishing a book, because then I miss the characters.

Aww that’s cool.  So, what is your typical day like?

I wake up and answer emails/messages if I have them, and then try to write all day… which never happens. But I do try to meet a word count goal.

Word counts are golden. Thank you for stopping by.

****
Schedule:
4/8
http://stacyclaflin.com – Excerpt Reveal
4/9
4/10
4/11
4/12
http://www.loveinabook.com – Author Interview
4/13
www.librarymosaic.blogspot.com – Excerpt Reveal
